Angebote zu "Afro" (2 Treffer)

Kategorien

Shops [Filter löschen]

The Poet X , Hörbuch, Digital, 1, 210min
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing #ownvoices novel-in-verse by an award-winning slam poet, about an Afro-Latina heroine who tells her story with blazing words and powerful truth.Xiomara Batista feels unheard and unable to hide in her Harlem neighborhood. Ever since her body grew into curves, she has learned to let her fists and her fierceness do the talking.But Xiomara has plenty she wants to say, and she pours all her frustration and passion onto the pages of a leather notebook, reciting the words to herself like prayers - especially after she catches feelings for a boy in her bio class named Aman, whom her family can never know about.With Mami´s determination to force her daughter to obey the laws of the church, Xiomara understands that her thoughts are best kept to herself. So when she is invited to join her school´s slam poetry club, she doesn´t know how she could ever attend without her mami finding out. But she still can´t stop thinking about performing her poems.Because in the face of a world that may not want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to be silent.´´Crackles with energy and snaps with authenticity and voice.´´ (Justina Ireland, author of Dread Nation) 1. Language: English. Narrator: Elizabeth Acevedo. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/harp/006508/bk_harp_006508_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 26.08.2019
Zum Angebot
Pride , Hörbuch, Digital, 1, 368min
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Pride and Prejudice gets remixed in this smart, funny, gorgeous retelling of the classic, starring all characters of color, from Ibi Zoboi, National Book Award finalist and author of American Street. Zuri Benitez has pride. Brooklyn pride, family pride, and pride in her Afro-Latino roots. But pride might not be enough to save her rapidly gentrifying neighborhood from becoming unrecognizable. When the wealthy Darcy family moves in across the street, Zuri wants nothing to do with their two teenage sons, even as her older sister, Janae, starts to fall for the charming Ainsley. She especially can’t stand the judgmental and arrogant Darius. Yet as Zuri and Darius are forced to find common ground, their initial dislike shifts into an unexpected understanding. But with four wild sisters pulling her in different directions, cute boy Warren vying for her attention, and college applications hovering on the horizon, Zuri fights to find her place in Bushwick’s changing landscape, or lose it all. In a timely update of Jane Austen´s Pride and Prejudice, critically acclaimed author Ibi Zoboi skillfully balances cultural identity, class, and gentrification against the heady magic of first love in her vibrant reimagining of this beloved classic. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Elizabeth Acevedo. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/harp/007664/bk_harp_007664_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 26.08.2019
Zum Angebot

Ähnliche Suchbegriffe